The travail of daily travel

This is what, in my journalism days, we’d call a “tick tock.”

6:40 a.m.: Wake up. Stare at ceiling.

6:50 a.m.: Actually get out of bed. Dress. Pet dog. Brush teeth. Pet dog. Pack lunch (maybe). Pet dog. Get in car. Drive.

Good dog! Now, Scarlet, behave the rest of the day. Also, do not eat my foot that the WordPress photo editing software won’t let me crop out.

7:20 a.m. If I actually leave by this time, then I will stroll onto the train. If I don’t, I will run across the street, through the parking, around the chainlink fence, and down the sidewalk to get there before the doors close.

7:42 a.m.: Sit in the third car. Always the third car. Pray. Then listen to podcasts.

8:35 a.m.: Get off train and onto bus for a 1.5-mile trip to work.

8:51 a.m.: Get morning oatmeal. Curse coworkers who insist it’s a good idea to eat oatmeal and encourage you when you eat this tasteless glop that still cost you a few pounds, but at what cost? Oh, right, a few pounds.

9 a.m.: Start work. Describing editing is boring, even though the work isn’t, so let’s skip ahead.

On or around 1 p.m.: Read daily answer and question from “Jeopardy” calendar out loud. Someone in my department usually guesses it. I work with smart people.

5 (if I brought lunch) or 5:30 p.m. (if I didn’t): Exit work. Walk (usually) to train station. Determine, based on what you are told dinner is, whether you should just get tacos or a sandwich at the train station.

5:49 or 6:18 p.m.: On the train. More podcasts.

7ish sometime: Get home. Pet dog. Eat dinner (perhaps). Pet dog. Watch “Jeopardy” or go to gym. Pet dog.

8:30ish: Shower. Pet dog. Wonder whether dog is too needy.

9:30ish: Go to sleep.

Lather, rinse, repeat. And this doesn’t count practice days, days with extra Masses, or days where something else is going on. And yes, that’s almost a two-hour commute each way.

But most days, I like this more than I don’t. And even if I shouldn’t, I feel pretty lucky.

2 responses to “The travail of daily travel

  1. Pingback: What is and what could have been | Pull Out All the Stops

  2. Pingback: Let’s talk about the day job | Pull Out All the Stops

Leave a Reply

