Handy organist tip #4: On going to confession

Confession is a valuable sacrament, of course. I go with some frequency, because the sacrament definitely does me some good. That having been said, I try to avoid going to any pastors who employ me and know me fairly well, for a couple reasons:

1. I don’t want to inadvertently put them in a position where they might accidentally violate the seal of confession, especially if I confess something that leads them to question whether I should be employed there. (I don’t think I’ve done anything like that, but, you know, just in case…)

2. It’s awkward. Yeah, I know it shouldn’t be, and I know they’ve heard seemingly everything, but these folks know the best of what I have to offer, and it’s not much fun to show them the worst, even if they don’t think it’s such a big deal.

Luckily for me, I work in Chicago, and the parish downtown has confessions all day. So I tend to go there instead. As for others, there’s a decent chance there’s another nearby parish with confessions at a convenient time. Or if you can find a spiritual adviser who is a priest, it’s probably better to work with him.

One response to “Handy organist tip #4: On going to confession

  1. Almost every priest who’s talked about the sacrament says that they forget the sins of the penitent as soon as the latter leave the confessional. For whatever it may be worth 🙂

Leave a Reply

