Let’s talk about the day job

Two years ago today (my sister’s 20th birthday), I was standing outside my new office building, waiting to get in for orientation as I started a new job that I hoped would be a lot better than my old job.

There was just one little problem: My orientation was not in that downtown Chicago building. It was, instead, two miles away at a community church. I did not know that.

That day, wrong building. Every other day, it's the right one.

That day, wrong building. Every other day, it’s the right one.

Luckily, my sixth sense had been tingling the night before, and I had e-mailed a collegemate who was working at the new place to figure out where I should be. His e-mail sending me to the right place reached my phone while I was standing outside, and I got in a taxi and to the orientation with a few minutes to spare.

Inauspicious start to my career there, I suppose. But I’ve been there for two years today (which is my sister’s 22nd birthday — happy birthday sis!), and that’s longer than I’ve been at any job post-college, so I suppose it’s time to talk a little bit about my day job, which I don’t tend to except in passing on this blog.

My day job is copy editing for a well-known Internet-based company that has often been in the news the last couple years (for reasons both good and bad). We send a ton of copy out each day to e-mail, Facebook, Twitter, etc., and we have to try to keep it as clean as possible, which is no easy task. My specialty is entertainment and sports editing, so I deal with copy that addresses concerts and several different professional leagues. I also occasionally write and handle some related tasks, but my primary job is copy editing.

I’m allowed to work from home once a week, and I usually do so. I don’t prefer to do so, but my commute to work is an hour, 45 minutes each way (in the best of circumstances), and I suffered a terrible case of burnout over the Christmas season, trying to juggle my day job and church work. So to save my sanity, I take the day to work from home. It has helped.

As for the people, they’re definitely a thing that keeps me there. It’s the first post-college place I’ve been at where most people were around my age. We all tend to get along, and we go out occasionally. I’ve been to a couple of their wedding receptions, even. This year will be the second that I’m in my former boss’s fantasy baseball league. Every day, I read the answer and question of my “Jeopardy” calendar, and most days, they get it right with no problem. They all know I’m a church organist and don’t treat it like the odd thing it actually is. Actually, every once in a while I get sent organ-related links, and I’ve even attended an organ concert with a few of them.

Are there occasional issues at work? Sure. What workplace doesn’t have them? But more often than not, I head home at the end of the day feeling fine.

The day job gets short shrift on this blog because, well, this is primarily a blog about my music stuff. So even though it’s not noted much here, don’t mistake it as being a small, unimportant part of my life. It allows me to chat with good folks, teaches me plenty, puts money in my bank account and frees me to pursue my church work on the weekends.

Sometimes, I have a bad day at work. I grouse about whatever and ask myself why I’m there. But then I remember what the job has given me the last couple years. And when I look at things that way, I end up reminding myself: it’s not a bad gig at all.

3 responses to “Let’s talk about the day job

  1. That’s all good and well, but I imagine your career couldn’t be truly soul-satisfying unless there were another Tim, so you might be Good Tim by point of comparison?

  2. Pingback: 7 quick takes: The Church as Cassandra | Pull Out All the Stops

Leave a Reply

