When you’re like everyone’s adopted son

Last Saturday evening, I went to a party right after my second Mass, the one in Spanish. I changed into my party clothes in a restroom and was on my way out when I saw one of the ushers and said hi.

“Tengo una fiesta esta noche,” I said. “Es en Chicago, y necesito manejar.” (“I have a party tonight. It’s in Chicago, and I need to drive there.”)

“No cerveza*,” he replied with a bit of a teasing tone in his voice. (“No beer.”)

Ah, adults. They’re the same in any language. Always good to know they care.

*It was a wine party, though. But I don’t drink much wine, so it wasn’t a problem.

Leave a Reply

