Stop what you’re doing right now and listen to this English choral music

A couple months ago, I filled out a survey for the OCP bilingual hymnal we use at my main parish. As thanks, they sent me a gift certificate (not redeemable online, incredibly; I have to mail a postcard in) for one CD, which presumably will arrive in six to eight weeks.

Andrew Wright

Perhaps many people would buy one of OCP’s contemporary artist CDs. And many of their contemporary artists are not bad. But as I have well-established, contemporary isn’t really my preference.

Which is why I was happy to find OCP promoting this CD of English choral music. Composed by Andrew Wright, this CD has plenty of eminently singable music (fair warning, choir at my main parish). Here’s his Ave Maria setting:

But my favorite is his “Emmanuel.” A lot of good Advent music is just that little bit haunting, and this nails it. This is something a congregation could pick up, too. And the choral parts are doable.

As it turns out, Andrew Wright is very well-regarded in the composer community, and with good reason. Go spend some time listening to the samples from his CD. I promise you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

