Wait, you requested what? Oh, no, not that. Anything but that.

Both of my sisters are engaged, and the younger of the two gave me a call the other day, asking if I would do the music for her wedding. Sure, I said.

Her fiance “has a request,” she said.

OK, I said. She’s not getting married until next December, so I can handle pretty much any request she and he would make, right? Considering that we wouldn’t be setting all the music for probably eight months?

This was the request:

On sheet music, the first page of the piece, commonly known as Widor’s Toccata (the full title is a little longer), looks like this:

That, um, is probably as painful as it looks.

“I’m going to kill you,” I told the happy couple.

I have one year to learn the piece.

One response to “Wait, you requested what? Oh, no, not that. Anything but that.

  1. Pingback: Apparently, the organ needed a break | Pull Out All the Stops

Leave a Reply

