My five most popular posts of 2013

Thanks to Web search traffic, some posts get a lot of popularity over time. But that’s not always the case. Sometimes it’s just one big surge. In some cases, views are obscured because someone went to the homepage or a category or tag search, thus not seeing the post by itself. Nonetheless, with the numbers I have, here are the posts that people checked out most this year.

5. Fun with the Young People’s Glory and Praise

I sang out of this book growing up, so when I found a copy of it at my original home parish, I had to skim through it and bring back some quality memories.

4. Dear Catholic people getting married, please do not use CCM songs at your wedding Mass

Really? I wrote this pretty much when I started the blog. It’s still true (really, “We Are One Body” is awful), but I’m surprised this gets this much traction.

3. A homeowner’s tale

In July, I bought my first house. But it’s a story that has its roots in 2009, when I was laid off from my job.

2. My favorite Advent hymns

This is a post from 2012; I had a flood of people looking for lists of Advent hymns in November. We may have passed Advent by now, but there’s still plenty of great music there to listen to.

1. Praise music from the past: “Sons of God, Hear His Holy Word”

I guess there really isn’t much available these days about the song, which was one of the most prominent during the folk era, then poof! disappeared. Because I had a lot of people looking for information on this song and its composer, and I didn’t have a whole lot to offer. And I still don’t. When I have a chance, I will try to track down a copy of Ken Canedo’s “Keep the Fire Burning,” which documents the folk era, and maybe I might be able to find more information.

Leave a Reply

