Communication breakdown

OK, so the song’s lyrics are not really related to the post, per se; I just wanted to use some Led Zeppelin on the blog.

After I finished my first Mass of three on a recent Sunday, the drummer for the “contemporary” group started setting up his drums for the third Mass. He does so then so that everything is in place well before the Mass he’s actually playing at. There was just one problem: I was scheduled for that Mass, and the “contemporary” group was not.

“Hey, I think you’re off this week,” I said.

“Naw, I’m here with the youth group,” he said.

Uh-oh.

He was right. They were scheduled by the youth minister, who … whoops, forgot to remind the music director, who then would have had to tell me, except she didn’t know. Grrrrrrrr.

The youth minister came over, apologized, and hugged me. I forgave her … this time, I said in a mock threatening voice, then added fake dramatic music. She laughed. It was a miscommunication. It’s annoying, but it happens. Can’t let it bug me too much. And she apologized immediately when she figured out what happened, which is harder to do than you might think.

Well, there we go. Problem solved. I get out of work early, in a sense. Then I remembered one more important issue. I had forgotten to ask: Do I still get paid?

Leave a Reply

