What I’m doing on my summer vacation

Last time, it was what I thought I might be doing for my summer vacation. Well, I’m doing what I thought I might be doing, which means in a few weeks, I will have done what I thought I might be doing, which may confuzzle everyone enough.

I’m off to the Church Music Association of America’s summer colloquium in Indianapolis. I will be staying with terribly overly indulgent friends whom I cannot even begin to repay, as they easily saved me $1,000 in hotel bills. And I will spend a week fully engaged with church music, which is going to be important, because if one day I’m going to go full-time as a church musician (something I’d like to figure out how to do), I need to be able to hold my own out here. So let’s discuss what I’m hoping for over my week in Indy.

Embed from Getty Images

Fun with chant and polyphony

I have no problem with hymns. But a major, major part of the colloquium is working within the Church’s longer-standing traditions of music, and so I will get some extra experience with chant, which we do at my main parish, and polyphony, which we don’t. I don’t have the people to do polyphony now, but it would be nice to get some experience in case I’m in a position to do it one day.

Here’s my card

Hobnobbing is important, of course. I have no idea who I will meet or whether they will be able to help me with something (or vice versa) one day. Luckily, I have a few hundred business cards sitting around. With any luck, I can meet some church musicians around my age, as, uh, there aren’t too many around here.

Listening to the unfamiliar idea

A chunk of the CMAA folk are big on singing the propers at Mass (I’ll oversimplify a little, but it’s basically chants at entrance, psalm, offertory, and communion). I’m going to go to a presentation on why to do this, because I want to understand this argument better. I will not be convinced by it, but that’s another story for another day. Now, I will be going to a week of Masses where this is what they will be doing. I’m sure it will be beautiful, and I will join in wholeheartedly, because it’s still the Mass. But I can’t see a scenario in which I would, as a Guy in Charge of Music, intentionally schedule the propers at Mass. (That having been said, if a parish will pay me to do the propers at Mass, I will do it, because, you know, professional.)

Learning about the Extraordinary Form

I need to, as it’s a major hole in my musician game. There will be two EF Masses during the colloquium. A parish near me has the EF, and I’d like the chance to play for it. Do I have any particular attraction to the Extraordinary Form (better known to laymen as the Latin Mass)? Nope. I have no problem with it, but I much prefer the vernacular and having two readings before the Gospel (plus, the propers pop up again). But if someone will pay me to be there, will I nail it to the best of my ability? You bet. Because, you know, professional.

Sit back and relax

I have no real responsibilities this week other than to sit, sing, and learn. I don’t have to think about anything going on at home or at any of my parishes. I can’t take any funerals, because I’m not around. I am off from the day job. I have some time during the week to hang out with my friends.

It should be a great week. I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

