Floating a trial balloon

As many of you know, church music isn’t my full-time job. I’m normally a weekend warrior, and I have a day job in Chicago. So, in effect, I work pretty much every day.

Which is leading me to consider: What if church music became my full-time work and I shifted to editing and writing part-time or freelance or even not at all? I’m thinking about it, very seriously, especially after my week at the CMAA colloquium (about which there will be a couple more posts when I have a chance).

There would be a lot to work out. The benefits wouldn’t be as great. I have a mortgage, so a pay cut is a bad idea. Job security for music directors isn’t the best. I would lose the social benefits from the day job. I need some more training to help me do directing properly (luckily, I have people lined up to help).

But there would be plenty of pluses. I would spend more time with sacred music. I could bring more people beautiful music, and train more to sing it. I could take a job closer to home, hopefully. I wouldn’t have to work seven days a week like I do now. I might have more time for a social life.

It’s a lot to think about. Please pray for me as I try to figure this all out.

Leave a Reply

