Give them a chance, and the kids will get it

I’m a brand new godfather! My friends had their second kid a few months back, and they asked me to be the godfather. It’s an honor, of course, and after I carried out my duty, all went back to his parents’ place for a party.

This being a big group of Catholics, Catholic stuff inevitably came up. The topic turned to music, and I talked about how many places are in a back-to-basics approach, incorporating Latin and more of the Church’s traditions. I discussed how many places are using more Latin.

A sister of my godson’s dad piped up. “Yeah, we have some of that. I really like it.”

I’d rather hear that than “This contemporary Catholic music at Mass is really cool” any day.

Leave a Reply

