Do Protestants appreciate organists more than Catholics?

I recently filled in at a United Methodist church. Went pretty well. The opening hymn, oddly enough, was “Gather Us In.” Go figure. But at the end of the service and afterward, I was struck by a couple things.

First, the pastor, before he gave the ending blessing, told everyone that I was more than welcome to come again. Cool. But then after the service, several people came up to me and thanked me for playing. Then after I exited the sanctuary, several more did. (Coincidentally, they need a new music director and organist and asked me about my interest; though it was a great visit to that church, I gently informed them I wasn’t interested, because if I’m going to do church music at a new place, I would prefer it to be full-time and Catholic.)

This doesn’t happen particularly often at Catholic services, but it did happen when I filled in for several weeks at an Episcopal parish; I suppose part of it with the Catholics is that I’m a known quantity at most of my parishes, though I filled in at a Catholic parish immediately after the Methodist service and had one person chat with me afterward.

I don’t know if it’s good, bad, or indifferent. But I noticed. I wonder if it says something about how seriously Catholics need to take their music.

It’s worth further thought on my part.

Leave a Reply

